Durdle Door

DSC_9938-Pano-smallerHaving seen Durdle Door sunsets in other landscape photographs I arranged a family visit there in late August 2017. I was initially disappointed as a band of thick cloud appeared on the horizon just before the sun set (and it was already setting further west than I would have liked, behind the cliffs). But just after sunset the thin cloud caught the pastel tones and the beach was lit in a pleasant glow. This is comprised of three images stitched together.

The beach was in fact fuller than the image suggests – Lightroom’s spot-removal tool is also great at clearing a beach in late summer it would seem. I kept the lone walker in for scale and perspective, and to convey a sense of space and serenity.

I would have preferred the horizon to have been lower in the frame (lower third) so the top of the ‘door’ protruded from it, but that was the vantage point I had at the time when the light came good. This was the only image I kept from the photo shoot. I hope to revisit sometime when the sun is setting more over the sea and I’ve acquired a 10-stop ND filter to smooth the sea.

 

Leave a comment